top of page

Time running out in your twenties // JORD International Giveaway

Growing up, my twenties seemed what New York is to wide-eyed musical theatre kids: a land of hope, where dreams come true, and where success is guaranteed. By 25, I’d be married, have my first kid on the way perhaps, be in a successful job with a sophisticated wardrobe to match, and definitely be in my own house by now.

In reality, I just turned 23 and I’m very much single, the only thing making my stomach jut out is my incurable ice cream addiction, I’m starting a new job at the end of the month, I still wear pinafore dresses with scrunchies, and I’ve just moved into a flat in London which could never have been possible without the help of my parents. I don’t think 2 years will see all of this radically change.

And that’s okay! I’m so okay with that. The thought of being responsible for another human being is absolutely terrifying; I can’t commit to a brand of bread let alone a boyfriend, and I seem to be in good company amongst my friends on the “what even is a career” front.

However I feel like once 21 passes, the champagne has been toasted and the birthday cards put away, everyone starts to feel a slight panic, a sense of: now what?

This is the time where everything happens! This is where we figure everything out! This is where our grand plans come to fruition!

In reality, this is actually the time where I congratulate myself on freezing half a cupcake to enjoy later rather than overindulging once again, knowing I’ll benefit further down the line. It’s also a time where I’m pleasantly surprised to find my glasses are actually in my glasses case when I need them, or that I remembered to bring fresh underwear into the bathroom for after I shower.

While I joke about all this, I know for many people my age they are living with the constant ticking of an internal clock that seems to speed up by the day, running away from them and their clearly defined goals they set for their twenties way back when they were still a teen.

So, what’s the one thing that can remind us that, contrary to popular belief, time really is the only constant we have and it’s what we do with it that makes it count? A watch. I’ve been lucky enough to partner with JORD for this week’s musing, which seems very apt considering how we all desperately feel like we’re running out of time.

This St. Louis based company produces unique designs made from largely reclaimed materials, available to order worldwide and without any shipping charges. One thing I believe most twenty-somethings are now united on is the need to buy from companies that have sustainability at their core, which JORD couples with a distinctly modern look.

We’re also a generation who, as obsessed as we are with technology, are beginning to embrace tangible objects again: hardbacks over ebooks, vinyls over downloads, and now watches over phone clocks.

I personally love the high-quality wood design of my own JORD watch and how it easily coordinates with any outfit – particularly the warm yellows I’ve been favouring lately! The rose gold Cassia watch face I chose is also very in line with a recent popular Disney trend, so I’ll be park ready to go with ears to match come August.

Another great thing about JORD is how they can size your watch for you prior to shipping, as well as engraving the backplate and presentation box for an additional fee. This means you can receive a truly personal and unique product, with one-year warranty also taken care of at the point of purchase.

I was so excited when JORD contacted me about doing a potential giveaway, but even happier when I learnt that it would be open worldwide – I see my stats, and I know you guys are reading my blogs and watching my vlogs from literally everywhere, so hello to those from Hong Kong and The Netherlands!

The winner of this giveaway will receive $100 off any watch of their choice (or the equivalent in your local currency) and all other entrants will get 10% off to spend on the JORD site.

Enter here for your chance to win: 

https://www.woodwatches.com/g/emilyswanderland 

So let’s step back from putting so much pressure on ourselves to make our twenties perfect, realize that time is what we make of it, and that we’re all probably doing just fine.

DISCLOSURE: This post is sponsored by Jord Watches and I was gifted a watch from them for this giveaway. All opinions are my own.

bottom of page